To all the mamas of little ones

To all the mamas of little ones: Bless you.

The days are long but the years are short.  I chant this to myself in the middle of the night when everyone (and I mean everyone) is crying.  No one and nothing could have prepared me for motherhood. No stories of sleepless nights or What to Expect books. If someone would have told me I could survive on two hours of sleep I would have laughed in their face. If they said one day five hours of sleep would seem like a lot I would have thought they were crazy.

Caring for two newborns is really, really hard. I would venture to say it’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Is it wonderful? Yes. But so so hard. 

To all our amazing family and friends: THANK YOU.  Thank you for bringing us food, doing dishes, cleaning the house, taking care of our dogs, letting me nap, etc etc. We are so thankful for each and every one of you.

To all the mamas of little ones:  You are saints!  You are so strong and brave.  You work the day shift and the night shift for no monetary reward and often without any thanks or praise.  You might not know it but you are doing kingdom work – yes, the dirty diapers and dishes and never-ending laundry and meal cooking and middle-of-the-night feedings have a purpose and its bigger than you can imagine.  I have so many dreams for my boys but my prayer every night is that they will become men after His own heart.   It’s easy to lose sight of the grandness of motherhood when you’re dealing with spit up and poop but being a mama is so meaningful and beautiful and I am so desperate to remember that each moment of the day.  In all the little things, we are a part of something really, really big.

   
    
    
    
    
    
    
   

Leave a Reply

