Oh, Christmas Tree!

We finally have ourselves a Christmas tree!  Although we are going away for Christmas, this year we finally had the space and I had the time to decorate our little home.  I really enjoy Christmas decorations.  I grew up in a home where there were about 12 Christmas trees put up each year.  Every one has a theme (like the UF tree for Dad, UCF tree for Mom and USF tree for me) except for the big tree that we put the presents under.  It’s my favorite tree because all of its ornaments have stories.  Some of the ornaments are cheesy hand-made ones, some are from cool places we’ve been and many are gifts from others.

J.R. and I only have one-and-a-half trees for now (I have a little tree that I decorated with snowflakes and snowmen).  It was so much fun to decorate our big tree together and talk about each ornament’s story.

IMG_1140

Here are a few of my favorite ornaments on our tree:

You can tell a lot about people from their ornaments (we like penguins, Star Wars and music!).

You can tell a lot about people from their ornaments (we like penguins, Star Wars and music!).

This one's from my parents to remember our wedding anniversary.

This one’s from my parents to remember our wedding anniversary.

IMG_1143

This one I found in my grandma’s collection of ornaments. It means Merry Christmas in Polish.

Here are some other little decorations I put up around our apartment:

IMG_1148

Front door

My mini tree

My mini tree in the guest room

My DIY Pinterest trees!

My DIY Pinterest trees!

Free Pinterest printables for the kitchen.

Free Pinterest printables for the kitchen.

IMG_1134

Ornament center piece for the table.

One day when we get a house I’ll write a post about my crazy Christmas lights.  Yep, I’m totally going to be that person.  It makes me sad that less and less people decorate with outside lights.  My dad and I used to decorate fabulously with Christmas lights.  I would climb the ladder and put them on myself (he did all of the hard stuff on the roof).  I’m not sure how enthusiastic J.R. is about outdoor Christmas decor but I’m sure I can get him on board (and maybe one day on the roof!).

Leave a Reply

