Gainesville

It has been about a month since we made the move two hours north to join the Aletheia Gainesville team.  Gainesville, home of the Florida Gators, in case you were wondering (I still wear my USF shirts though).  I finished my last undergrad class a week after we moved, so I’m officially done and fully immersed in a job search.  J.R. began his new job right after we moved and was immediately tossed into a crazy hiring season for his company. As a recruiter, he is one busy man.  He leaves around 7:30 am and often times doesn’t get home until 7 or 7:30 pm.  I’ve been busy settling into our new home and doing this and that to help finalize our transition.  I have not had this much time on my hands since…..ever?  At moments I am loving it and at others I’m getting a bit stir crazy.  I am thankful for this time though; I know as soon as I get a job I will have NO time at all.  And anyway, I have plenty of fun books to catch up on.

We love our new home!  I am so thankful the Lord blessed us with this place.  With a spacious interior, lots of storage space, tons of fun things to do in the neighborhood, and a great location, I don’t think we could’ve gotten anything better.

We obviously love our home, but there are tons of other cool things we like about living in Gainesville.  To name a few:

  • Our awesome Aletheia Gainesville church family
  • We feel safe at night!!!  (this is funny if you know anything about Tampa)
  • There are hills (mountains in my opinion)
  • We can walk to Publix
  • Significantly less traffic
  • J.R. has a 4 minute commute to work
  • Saving money on gas!
  • There is a gym, pool, tennis & basketball court in our apartment complex
  • Zaxby’s
  • TCBY
  • Piesano’s (yummy Italian/pizza place within walking distance from our place)
  • Tons of fun outdoor adventure opportunities
  • Downtown
  • UF sports

There are a few things we miss in Tampa, like:

  • Our Aletheia Tampa fam!
  • Cheesecake Factory
  • Muvico
  • Busch Gardens

We are excited to be here and be a part of Aletheia Gainesville.  Our first group study on campus is happening this Sunday night so pray that all will go smoothly and that God is glorified!  And if you ever want to visit, we have an extra room waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

