2011 Recap and 2012 Preview

2011 sure went by fast.  This year is going to be a crazy one.  I can finally say, “I’m graduating college this year,” and “We’re helping start Aletheia Gainesville this year.”  This spring and summer semester are going to be a dash to the finish line for me.  I’m taking 17 credits in the spring, starting an internship with CBS, and working one day a week.  I’m co-leading a new bible study and am an intern for Aletheia Tampa.  Oh wait, and before all of that, I’m a wife (which I absolutely love being)!

Needless to say, this is more than I’ve ever taken on at once.  Last semester was pretty tough.  J.R. and I had very different schedules so time together was not as much as we would have liked.  This semester isn’t going to be any better.  But, it’s not forever, and I’m not doing this on my own.  My prayer for this new year is that I can be more focused on God’s word than I was at the end of last year.  Yeah, I got through the semester, but I was plain burnt out.  This month of rest has been refreshing, but the only way I’m going to plow through the first half of this year is by getting refilled and replenished by the word of God daily.  I spent a large chunk of last year studying Isaiah.  Reading about the promised Messiah in the OT and constantly being challenged to identify the idols in your life was amazing.  Now I’m reading Acts, which gets me super pumped up about church planting.

Anyway, as much as I think this year is going to be a big year, I guess 2011 was too.  I mean, I did get married and all.  So, here’s a recap of last year:

May 28, 2011-  We finally tie the knot…..I say finally like we had been dating for a long time before we got married, haha.  We were pretty eager.  But we were just being obedient to what God told us.  This picture is us walking out to our massive hummer limo that I did not order.  I just wanted a sleek little black one to take us to the airport.  I had never been in a limo and I figured this was my chance.  Well, I can assure you, if I would have known how horrible that experience would be, I would have never done it.  The driver repeatedly got lost, stuck, lost in a mobile home park, and stuck some more.  Thankfully, marriage is an entirely different experience.  It’s awesome.  You learn a lot of things about your sweetie, and a lot of things about yourself (mostly how selfish you are, haha).  We are past our first half a year and it has truly been a blast.

We went to the Dominican Republic on our honeymoon.  I miss that place.  It was very peaceful.  It was quiet, not busy at all.  You could lay on the beach, lay by the pool, lay on the porch, eat steak, eat lobster, and eat fabulous bacon…..and you could do all of that all the time.  Great way to kick off a marriage!

July 29- I turned 20!  We took the day off work and had fun.  Enough said.

We went to Rock the Universe in September.  Funny story, we bought tickets to go and then won tickets a few days later.  But there were some perks in winning.  We got to meet Switchfoot and ride a roller coaster with Family Force 5.  Another highlight of the trip was hanging out with Captain America (side note- Captain America was one of the best films of 2011).  J.R. discovered he likes roller coasters and we got to visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter (amazing).  The concerts at night were fantastic.  We discovered a new band called For King & Country that is awesome.  Other bands there were Relient K, Anberlin and Brandon Heath.

In December we went to New York and Virginia to visit J.R.’s family.  I got to meet some of his relatives for the first time and we spent Christmas in Long Island.  We even made a trip into NYC and walked through Central Park.

I had to add this to the end.  When we were in Winchester, VA after Christmas, I got to hang out at the library.  I had been eager to go back ever since we visited J.R.’s family in 2010.  It is so spectacular.  I love books!  And really old cool looking buildings!  And I got more time to hang out with my sister, Emmaleigh, which is always a blessing.

That’s 2011 in a nutshell.  I’m excited to see what God has planned for 2012.

Leave a Reply

