Married Moments!

Two months into marriage and time is flying by.  Everyone likes to ask me how married life is going, and although my response will sometimes vary with some goofy story, the main answer is always “great.”  God has made the transition fairly easy for us and it feels like it’s the way it should be.  Not to say we haven’t had our moments, but we are so thankful to finally be one.  I can definitely say that I am continually learning how selfish I am.  Thankfully my husband and I have lots of grace with each other.

I think one of my biggest issues is cooking.  I am certainly not a gourmet chef, but sometimes I wish I was.  One night I forgot to make rice for burritos and literally cried about it.  Haha.  I’ve had a couple of meals that have turned out a bit weird, but over all they’ve been pretty tasty.  It’s more of the stress I experience during the process of making it and the mess my kitchen becomes.  I still am working on timing things appropriately and portioning things better.  Sometimes I make too much, sometimes not enough.  Sometimes I put the noodles in too soon and the meat not soon enough.  The funny thing is, my husband could care less.  He’s happy to be fed and half the time he genuinely likes what I make more than I do.  I just put way too much pressure on myself to look like I have it all together.

But, really, we’ve been having a blast.  We’re just two goofballs in love.  A few nights ago I woke up and saw J.R. sleeping beside me and totally freaked out.  I practically jumped out of bed.  I must have forgot my marital status for a brief moment.  I’m pretty delirious when tired.  I’m an awful morning person, too.  I used to be a crazy runner so I’d get up at 5 to practice, but those days were so long ago.  My first week of work (praise Jesus for a job!) I was an absolute mess.  J.R. thought it would be fun to sing at me to get me out of bed.  Now, when I say sing, I mean more like yodel or something like that….Not anything pleasant like you hear on Sunday mornings.  Anyway, my dad used to do the same sort of shananagans while I was growing up.  The flashback was more than I could handle and my poor hubby got an earful from me that morning.  Haha.  I think I’m becoming more pleasant when I wake up, but I still am not super chatty.

A couple weeks ago I celebrated my 20th birthday.  We both got the day off and had so much fun hanging out.  He took me to the aquarium and we went out for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  We went to a Japanese steakhouse where they sang to me while hitting a gong.  I had to wear a big paper chef hat.  I was slightly embarrassed, but it was fun!  They gave me a cupcake and J.R. still took me out for dessert.

I am just so blessed with a Godly husband and so thankful to be surrounded by Christian couples who are awesome examples of what marriage is all about.  Being a wife is definitely part of my sanctification process and I know that even 20 years from now I will still be learning how to serve my husband better.  I will continue to ask God for wisdom.

“Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”- Proverbs 31:30

Leave a Reply

