For your next date night….

A few weeks ago, J.R. surprised me on date night with a downtown Tampa adventure.  He wouldn’t tell me where we were going or what we were doing.   When we finally got downtown, we parked and just started wandering around the city.  He told me we were just exploring for the night, but I knew he had a plan….I just couldn’t figure out what it was.  Turns out there are some pretty cool things scattered around downtown.  Eventually, we got to our destination- the Tampa Theatre!  The theatre was playing the movie Jane Eyre, which I had been wanting to see.  It was one of my favorite books in high school (I love old 18th century romances).  The movie wasn’t playing in any of the theaters we usually go to so I figured I’d have to wait until it came out on DVD.  But my amazing fiance found out that it was playing and made sure we saw it.  Isn’t he the sweetest?

Here he is sitting in this awesome chair in the second floor of the theatre.

It is an amazing building.  It opened in 1926, when movie theaters were more than just theaters, they were “palaces.”  We were mesmerized by every detail of the building, inside and out.  It is such a cool thing to see that they actually give tours of the place.  We got there early enough to take our own tour and climb up the stairs to the balcony level.  The ceiling of the theatre is made to look like a night sky- it’s dark blue with twinkling lights.  While we were waiting for our movie to start, the stage floor opened up and a woman playing an organ popped out.  She was so cute and super talented!  She even played some songs from one of my favorite old movies, Meet Me in St.Louis with Judy Garland.

The Tampa Theatre, where we ended up!

The organ has to be one of the hardest instruments to play....she was moving her hands and feet in different ways at the same time = crazy skill.

The movie was great.  I tried not to act too excited about it right after, figuring that J.R. had been suffering the whole time.  He was pretty quiet and started asking questions, so I thought he was thinking the movie was crazy (it totally was, it adds absurd twists on the classic 18th cent. romance).  Then he told me he was just processing everything that had happened and he really liked it (yay!).

So after the movie we were in the mood for a snack…..and right around the corner is a little pizza shop, Eddie and Sam’s.  Apparently those guys get their water shipped from NYC so they have legit New York pizza.  It was sooooo good.  I can’t eat those big slices of pizza the proper New York style way, so I was a total mess, but J.R. looked fine afterwards.  I do the same thing with ice cream, so go figure   🙂

One thought on “For your next date night….

Leave a Reply

