It just so happened…..

I am exuding with joy as I sit down to write tonight, because it just so happens that I am now engaged!  My wonderful fiancé J.R. proposed Friday night at an Aletheia ice skating event.  We had originally met at the same event in March.  God really opened our eyes to each other then, and He continued to make awesome things happen on our second ice skating trip.  I had no idea that he was going to propose that night.  I mean, okay, so I have known he was my future husband from about week 2 or 3 of our relationship (crazy to some, but God knows what He’s doing), but I was totally clueless as to when he would pop the question.

When we were getting off the rink, he said,”I’m going to help you take off your skates, if you’ll help me for the rest of my life.”  And I’m just smiling, thinking, “Aww, that’s nice.”  So, I sit down and he starts taking off my skates.  Ice skating is legitimate exercise so I was tired and completely unaware that the Aletheia crew was surrounding us, most of them equipped with cameras.  So he’s being all cute and smiley, and then he pulls out his shoe.  And then I realized there was a little black box in the shoe that he was trying to get out.  And then came the question.  It’s hard to describe my reaction.  Luckily, our friend Speedy caught it all on tape and made a spectacular video for us.

Yeah, so as you can see, I was freaking out.  The adrenaline rush lasted till Saturday afternoon.  Then I realized how tired I was (I couldn’t sleep at all Friday night because I was so excited/happy/joyful/busy getting into wedding planning mode/calling everyone I knew).

I can’t even begin to tell you how thankful I am for J.R. and how much God has changed my life through him.  I am so excited to see what God will do in our marriage.  It’s all about Jesus.  As husband and wife, we will be a ministry team for God and serve Him where ever He may lead us.

J.R. is my Boaz and I am his Ruth.  It’s so amazing to see God’s providence.  In Ruth 2 it describes Ruth and Boaz’s first meeting.  (Check out Aletheia’s Ruth series here).  Ruth has come to Bethlehem with her mother-in-law because she decides to follow the true God.  They have lost their husbands and seemingly have nothing.  Now as she goes to glean in the fields, “she happened to come to the part of the field belonging to Boaz…” (v.3).   This isn’t chance, this is God’s providence.  J.R. just so happened to move down from Virginia to help start Aletheia Tampa, I happened to come to Tampa to go to USF, then I just so happened to start going to Aletheia, and we just happened to strike up a conversation after ice skating one night…….God writes the most beautiful love stories……and the greatest one of all is about Jesus, who died for our sins to give us new life.

So now I’m enjoying the engaged life…….Pray for me to balance a ridiculous school semester with wedding planning!

One thought on “It just so happened…..

Leave a Reply

